Creating Audio Mods
See Extracting Game Audio before proceeding.
Instructions are for Windows users.
Audio Editing
Download an audio-editing tool of your choice, such as Audacity - Download
ImportEdit theOGG or OPUSaudio filesand edit themin your audio-editing tool.MakeFor replacing audio without making any adjustments to a PCK file, make sure that your edits match the start and end length of the audio track.SFXSFX, VO, &VO:Convert all of the audio you want to export to OPUS.( Export Audio -> OggOpus - 64 kbps for high quality )- MUSIC: Convert all of the audio you want to export to WAV. ( 32 bit for high quality )
FFmpeg ( SFX & VO ) - Eternal Mod Injector
You need the FFmpeg extension for Audacity to import/export OPUS audio files - Download
Installffmpeg-win-#.#.#.exe-> Follow the installation instructionsOpen Audacity -> Edit -> Preferences -> LibrariesFFmpeg Library: Locate... -> Browse... -> Findavformat-55.dll-> OK
Be sure to export the OPUS file in either mono or stereo depending on the format of the original file.
Sometimes, Audacity will automatically find avformat-55.dll
If the exe version does not work, download the zip option and extract it into a new folder called ffmpeg-win-#.#.# (depending on the version number) and extract all its contents in there. Then attempt to locate FFmpeg.
Wwise Launcher ( MUSIC ) - EternalAtlan Mod InjectorLoader & idStudio
Create an audiokinetic account (use free trial) and install Audiokinetic Launcher - Download
Install Wwise Version 2022.1.18.8567 for the best experience.
- Go to Wwise Launcher -> WWISE -> Launch Wwise (64-bit) -> New (Project Launcher) -> Provide it a name -> Select None (Import assets to project) -> OK
- Close (License Manager) ->
PropertyProjectEditor-> Project Settings (SHIFT + K) -> Source Settings->
<If you are modding MUSIC>
Default Conversion Settings ... ->Factory Conversion Settings /Vorbis / Vorbis Quality High
<If you are modding SFX or VO>
Default Conversion Settings ... -> PCM / PCM Auto Detect High
OK -> OK - Audio File Importer (SHIFT + I) -> Add Files... -> Select your WAV files -> Open -> Import
(Replace any if needed) - Project -> Convert All Audio Files... -> Check Windows (If it is not already checked) -> OK
- File Manager (SHIFT + F1) -> Right Click Project Folder Directory -> Open Containing Folder -> .cache\Windows\SFX (It is recommended to bookmark this directory)
- Be sure that the exported WEM files end with
_3F75BDB9the appropriate values.
ExportedMUSIC -> WEM_3F75BDB9 files for idStudio SFX end with-> _9D0E2A85
VO -> _10C4C929
ForBe idStudio mods, SFX & VO needsure to be converted with Wwise withremove the PCMappending Autovalues Detectafter Highthe DefaultID Conversionwhen Setting.you See:add the WEM files to your mod.
See also: https://wiki.eternalmods.com/books/eternal-idstudio/page/how-do-i-create-idstudio-mods
InjectingAdding Audio to your Mod
In your DOOMEternal\Mods folder, createCreate a folder in your Atlan mod callednamed based on where the file was originally found.(ex: music_patch_1audio).- Copy your converted WEM file(s) in there and make sure they have the same
nameID asextractedthefiles.audio file you want to replace. Any content prior to id# is irrelevant.
( ex: samuelsbase_music_main_heavy_0_0_id#15098487.wem ) RunPackage your mod, then run theEternalModInjectorAtlanModLoaderlike normal..
Legacy - FFmpeg ( SFX & VO ) - Eternal Mod Injector
You need the FFmpeg extension for Audacity to import/export OPUS audio files - Download
- Install ffmpeg-win-#.#.#.exe -> Follow the installation instructions
- Open Audacity -> Edit -> Preferences -> Libraries
- FFmpeg Library: Locate... -> Browse... -> Find avformat-55.dll -> OK
- SFX & VO: Convert all of the audio you want to export to OPUS.
( Export Audio -> OggOpus - 64 kbps for high quality )
Be sure to export the OPUS file in either mono or stereo depending on the format of the original file.
Sometimes, Audacity will automatically find avformat-55.dll
If the exe version does not work, download the zip option and extract it into a new folder called ffmpeg-win-#.#.# (depending on the version number) and extract all its contents in there. Then attempt to locate FFmpeg.